The Butler years -- 1939-1969
This chronology reflects current
information. Research is ongoing.
Harold Butler purchased the property and also used it as a gentleman's farm. He had two resident managers. Frank Reed left in 1955. Erwin Glancy lived on the farm with his family and maintained it until 1983. During that time, they kept Hereford and Angus cattle and there were sheep in the Old Sheep Barn. Buildings were constructed of Belgian blocks scavenged from demolition sites in Philadelphia. Also, the current Pig Barn, a large barn of about three stories, was built in the 1940s. This barn is a unique construction with 18 rafters of bentwood laminated timbers. Mr. Glancy claimed that some of the pine planks used in the animal stalls came from the 1940 Republican Convention in Philadelphia.
Estate of Harold Butler sold the site (83 acres) to Tri-Pak Development Corporation of New York. The Glancy family continued maintaining the farm.
Click on a link below to find out more about the dates indicated.